top of page

Book Confessions #1 - Stereotypes

Do you ever get asked if you read Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Twilight, or The Fault in Our Stars? Have you ever said no? Well, I have. I have never read the Harry Potter series, The Twilight series, or The Fault in Our Stars and I know I’m not the only one. However, when I say I’ve never read those books, especially Harry Potter, people are like “WHAT?!?!?! How are you a book nerd then?” It’s frustrating when people ask me that. It’s like asking how are you a girl if you don’t like makeup or dolls. It’s completely irrelevant and creates stereotypes. Well, you don’t necessarily have to read those books to be a book nerd. A book nerd is a person who reads and finds it enjoyable. They don’t have to be reading all the time, they just have to like it. I don’t think there should be stereotypes when it comes to us book lovers. The one thing that should be in common is just books. You don’t have to be a girl, wear glasses, be shy, or smart. A book nerd could be a person who plays sports and reads one book in two months. They just have to love books. Stereotyping just creates judgments that aren’t needed. I believe it creates boundaries and we shouldn’t have those especially in this amazing community of book lovers. Anyways, that’s my thoughts on stereotypes.

Recent Posts
bottom of page